Ramblings in the Desert

13 04 2007

I don’t remember how I got here. The sand dunes stretch as far as the eye can see. The sun is directly above me and bears down heavily. She twinkles off every grain of sand, reflecting her heat into the backs of my eyes.

I want to lie down but I dare not. I heard the vultures soaring above me and I know if I stop they will swoop and feast upon my hot dry eyes. The rest of me they can have but not my eyes.

I stop momentarily and rest my hands on my hips. I look left and then right. I turn and look behind. The glaring sand looks back at me. Which way is forward?

There are no tracks to follow. The horizon all looks the same. As though I am at the very centre of the earth. It appears I am equidistant from everywhere else no matter which course I take. Logic tells me that it doesn’t matter then which way I go. My heart tells me to look up once more. I try but squinting, I notice the sun has shifted and so I follow her west.

I have been walking now for hours. The sun looks back at me. I’m trying to keep up with her but she is too fast. I see her beginning to turn orange and soon she will be red and then…then she’ll be gone. She hurts my skin and takes the last of the moisture from my mouth for herself but still I try to keep up. I fear being left here without her.

The east wind comes and gently blows on the sand. It sends ripples across the dunes. I don’t know how far I have walked but I know I must be a long way away from my starting point. My feet have blisters and the back of my neck burns. I can feel the heat of my own scarlet skin. The breeze is cooling and pushes me ever forward.

The sky is red now and I no longer care. My legs are preparing to pluck up the courage to tell me that they shall not go any further. The black sky waits behind me with his cold hands outstretched, and I know that when he comes the sun will not save me. She fears him too yet escapes him every night.

(400 words)

Actions

Information

One response

6 05 2013
diet solution plan

I leave a leave a response whenever I appreciate a post on a website or I have something to add to the conversation.
Usually it’s triggered by the sincerness communicated in the post I browsed. And after this post Ramblings in the Desert | Jenny Love. I was actually moved enough to create a thought 😉 I do have some questions for you if it’s
allright. Is it only me or does it look like a few of the responses look as if they are left by brain dead
visitors? 😛 And, if you are posting at additional
online sites, I would like to keep up with you. Would you list
the complete urls of all your social sites like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter
feed?

Leave a Reply

