It’s poetry month

28 05 2007

I’m at the stage on my Creative Writing course where we have started to look at poetry.

I’ve got to admit I’ve struggled with this part. Not because, I don’t enjoy reading or writing poetry. I do.

It’s just the methods taught in the Big Red Book strike me as a little mechanical. Poetry to me had always been more organic than that. And my enjoyment from writing has probably come from the fact that I’ve never felt I was writing poetry for anyone other than myself. And so “who cares” if it was good, or held meaning for others?

Poetry for me was a tool I’d use to figure out my own feelings or express something I couldn’t in any other way.

However, for the sake of continuity and in attempt to try and measure my progress, I will try to post some of my attempts over these next few weeks.

Actions

Information

4 responses

29 05 2007
Andrew

I love the A215 book, but I really disliked the poetry section. It is so haphazard, with a mishmash of poetry information but with no heart.

I ended up deserting the book and reading Stephen Fry’s ‘The Ode Less Travelled’.

I know what you mean about poetry feeling personal. In one of last years tutorial days, one of the students read aloud a poem that was so personal, and so full of emotion that it seemed wrong to even try critique. It would have been almost like telling someone that they ‘cry’ wrong, or ‘feel’ wrong.

31 05 2007
puddlejumper

I’m glad to hear it’s not just me that’s struggling with it. I may give the Stephen Fry book a go instead!

8 07 2007
openchannel

I’ve been teaching poetry for 16 years and I know exactly what you mean. I think it’s that mechanical-ness that turns people away from poetry, and it’s a shame.

If you want to try one of the LEAST mechanical ways of writing poetry, check out The 3:15 Experiment (www.315experiment.com).

Cheers,
OpenChannel

10 07 2007
puddlejumper

I did.

Wow. It’s pretty cool. I like that sort of random connecting of words.

Thanks

Leave a Reply

